Birmingham Rowing Club

Rowing in the heart of the city

Category: Admin (page 1 of 3)

Committee 2016/17

The new committee were elected at the AGM on 26th September 2016

President: Peter Veitch

Chairman: Chris Llewellyn

Captain: James McKenna

Secretary: Christopher Anton

Treasurer: Sarah Gregory

Chairman of the Socials sub-committee: Caroline Kelley

Chairman of the Regatta sub-committee: Mindy Hothi

Development Officer: Sarah Gregory

Fundraising Officer: Hannah James (co-opted)

Ordinary committee members: Heather Hurst, Tom Pye


The Directors of the company are Christopher Anton (also Company Secretary), Tim Cherry and Dave McClement

New committee

Those elected to serve on the Committee for 2014/15 at the AGM on 30th September 2014 are

President Sir Adrian Cadbury

Chairman Chris Llewellyn

Captain Sarah Gregory

Secretary Emily O’Keefe

Treasurer Christopher Anton

Chair of the Regatta sub-committee vacant

Chair of the Socials sub-committee Caroline Kelley

Junior Development Officer Hannah Read

Ordinary committee member Adam Robinson, Hannah James

Directors Christopher Anton, Dave McClement, Tim Cherry

Welfare Officer (ex officio) Rhian Prichard

Club AGM

This will be held on Tuesday 30th September at 1830

Learn to Row courses

In association with B-Row and Edgbaston Watersports we are offering a two stage learn to row course for complete beginners.

The course is designed to introduce a total novice to rowing. It will teach the essentials in an informal setting initially in stable outrigger boats and teaching manoeuvrability and technique.

The first stage takes place at Edgbaston Watersports Centre at Edgbaston Reservoir and the second stage takes place at the Rowing Club on the other side of the Reservoir.

Stage 1 £45 for 4 x 2 hour sessions

Stage 2 £65 for 4 x 2 hour sessions

2014 dates

Stage 1

Sunday 2-4pm

LTRS1-1     19/1, 26/1, 2/2, 9/2

LTRS1-2     11/5, 18/5, 25/5, 1/6

LTRS1-3     21/9, 28/8, 5/10, 12/10

Stage 2

Sunday 2-4pm

LTRS2-1     2/3, 9/3, 16/3, 23/3

LTRS2-2     15/6, 22/6, 29/6, 6/7

LTRS2-3     2/11, 9/11, 16/11, 23/11

Thursday evenings

LTRS21-4     5/6, 12/6, 19/6, 26/6

Minimum Age is 11

All courses are subject to sufficient numbers and suitable weather conditions. If insufficient numbers you will be notified the week beforehand and offered a place on an alternative course. A non-refundable deposit is required when booking with the balance paid at the start of the course.

For further details contact or

Regatta raffle prize winners

The winners were

Ticket No.
Sarah Gregory
Apple I Pad II
Alan Hason
Overnight Stay at Radisson Blu Hotel – Birmingham
D. Hathaway
Family Day Out at Warwick Castle
Louise Green
Family Day Out at Cadbury World
Ed Hill
Midweek Tobogganing at the Snowdome
Grace Dunn
Midweek Cut and Blow Dry at Razors Edge Sutton Coldfield
Parini Mankad
Family Day Out at Black Country Museum
O’Connor Family
Gold Gym Membership for 2 for 1 month.
B McGeever
2 Tickets to Three Phantoms at Symphony Hall Birmingham – 12th June 2013
Verena Schwick
2 Tickets to Severn Valley Railway

Learn to Row course

The next senior learn to row course will run on Monday nights starting on 8th April for 10 weeks. For further details ring 07966 166 602

New committee

The new committee (which takes over on 1st October) which was elected at the AGM on 18th September 2012 are

President: Sir Adrian Cadbury
Chairman: Gemma Madeley
Captain: Sarah Gregory
Secretary: to be filled by new committee
Treasurer: Christopher Anton
Chair of the Social Committee: Emily O’Keefe
Chair of the Regatta Committee: to be filled by the new committee
Junior co-ordinator: Tim Mason
Ordinary members: Hannah Read, Rich James
Directors: Christopher Anton, Tim Cherry, Dave McClement
Safety Advisor (ex officio): Chris Llewellyn
Welfare Officer (ex officio): Rhian Prichard

Subscription rates 2011/12

See the subscription rates page for details. These are due on 1st October.

New committee

At the AGM last Thursday a new committee was elected

President Sir Adrian Cadbury
Captain Amy Chambers
Chair Gemma Madeley
Treasurer Christopher Anton
Junior Co-ordinator Tim Mason
Chair of Social sub committee Emily O’Keefe
Ordinary member Chris Llewellyn
Ordinary member Chris Kenyon

The directors of the company are Tim Cherry, Christopher Anton and Dave McClement

There are still two vacancies for Secretary and Chair of Regatta sub-committee

William Spanfelner and Shona Marsh are Men’s and Women’s Captains
Rhian Prichard is Welfare Officer

Annual General Meeting – Thursday, 15th September

The club’s AGM will be held at 6.30pm on Thursday, 15th September in the Ladywood Arts and Leisure Centre.

This is your opportunity to come and find out what the club has been doing in the last 12 months, see what it plans for the future, elect the new committee, set next year’s subscription rates, and generally have a curry afterwards.

Further details (including minutes, agenda, nomination forms, accounts) to follow, but please put the date in your diary. We had a good turnout last year and it would be good so see as many of you again.

Older posts